Our Assessment System

The principles that underpin our assessment system are:

  • Every child can achieve: teachers at Hollins Grundy have the mind-set, ‘What do I need to do next to enable every child in my class to achieve?’
  • The National Curriculum objectives will be used as the basis for expectations for all children.
  • Children will make age appropriate progress – 12 months in 12 months.
  • Teachers are experts at assessing children’s progress – assessment will be effectively used to ensure the correct expectations, teaching and support are built into lessons to ensure all children achieve.


In order to be ‘secondary ready’ children need to meet the required end of Key Stage 2 expectations by the time they come to the end of Year 6; this is broken down into key outcomes for each curriculum year. We use the National Curriculum objectives to assess outcomes for children at the end of each curriculum year – for example:

  • A child that has achieved 90% of the objectives set out for Year 3 for reading would be said to be secure (S) in Year 3 reading.
  • A child achieving more than 60% but not all of the mathematics objectives for Year 5 would be said to be working within (W) the Year 5 maths expectations.
  • A child achieving fewer than 40% of the reading objectives for Year 1 would be said to be working at the beginning (B) of Year 1 expectations in reading.



More able children

For children who have securely met the end of year objectives they will be assessed as exceeding or mastering objectives for their age group.  Rather than moving onto the next year’s curriculum these children will work on ‘mastering’ their knowledge through the application of skills in different contexts – they will be deepening their learning. The depth and application of a child’s learning is an important marker of their achievement and progress.

The New National Curriculum focuses very much on ensuring children have a breadth of understanding within the concepts and skills they learn. The application of skills and understanding across a wide range of curriculum areas is key. Rather than moving ‘up’ through the year groups, the focus is on moving ‘outwards’ developing a deeper understanding.

Children who have mastered the curriculum for their year group will be described as secure plus (S+) in our new assessment system.



Reception Class

Children in the Reception class will continue to be assessed against the Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (EYFSP for short). This consists of “Ages and Stages” criteria moving into Early Learning Goals by the end of Reception year. At the end of Reception these are reported as EmergingExpected or Exceeding the Early Learning Goals in each area.

Evidence is gathered across the year to create a portfolio for all children in Reception and we value all contributions from parents and carers to these documents. Assessment in EYFS is gathered through observations of learners, samples of learning, photographs and conversations which demonstrate the child’s understanding of a given concept.

In addition to this, staff identify the learning behaviours of children and plan lessons and activities to develop a wide range of learning skills in preparation for the next stage in their education i.e. Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2). These are passed on to parents in the end of year report and are called “Characteristics of effective learning.”

Years 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6

From September 2015, all children in Years 1, to 6 are no longer assessed against the national curriculum levels that parents and carers will have been familiar with.

In line with the New National Curriculum and raised expectations, children will be assessed against the content of the New National Curriculum for their year group.

Teachers are teaching from the New National Curriculum and covering all requirements for the specific year groups. The end of year expectations have been taken from the New National Curriculum and state the minimum requirements a learner must meet in order to ensure continued progress throughout the year in line with age expected standards.

Any gaps identified in learning for the children due to the increased expectations will be covered and staff have worked together to ensure that the coverage for children is in place.

Assessments In Years 2 and 6

New national assessment, testing and reporting arrangements have been put in place for summer 2016 which will reflect the demands of the new National Curriculum.

In Year 2 children will take two English reading tests and two tests in grammar, punctuation and spelling. In maths they will take an arithmetic test and a test of reasoning (problem solving maths questions). When assessments are reported at the end of the year, for each subject (reading, writing & maths) children will be assessed as “working towards the expected standard,” ” working at the expected standard” or “working at greater depth within the expected standard.” In addition children who did not reach the expected standard in the Year 1 phonic check will be given the outcome of the Year 2 phonic re-check.

In Year 6 children will take an English reading test and two tests in grammar, punctuation and spelling. In maths they will take three papers; one in arithmetic and two in reasoning (problem solving maths questions). The mental maths test will no longer be taken. The results of the Year 6 tests will be reported as a scaled score, i.e. a number between 80 and 120. Children with a scaled score of 100 or above are working at the expected standard, there is currently (July 2016) no measure of working at greater depth, or high attainment.

Results from external national tests will be published in a new format from summer 2016, in line with the new requirements and sent home with children’s end of year reports.

If parents and carers require any further information at this time, please do not hesitate to contact myself or your child’s class teacher.

error: Content is protected !!